An amazing gift from a friend

Kynim is not only a good friend of mine, but also an amazing cartoonist.
Most of you probably don’t know her, but she participated in the GMS ”Grow Your Dragon” event, where she drew several stages of Evan and his companion.
A few days ago she asked me if I wanted to give her my MapleStory character picture for a drawing and this is what she drew.

What do you think of this character art? I absolutely love it. I love how she came up with the half transformation concept and the dragon in the background, this is truly a masterpiece!
Please visit her DeviantART and check out her amazing gallery. ^^

Thank you Kynim~ ♥

About Spadow
It's not who I am underneath... but what I do... that defines me.

73 Responses to An amazing gift from a friend

  1. aaron says:

    Woah thats awesome :D

  2. Frank2312 says:

    Pretty nice of her to make you a drawing :)

    Give her the message that she is pretty good at drawing and that she should keep doing it (even though she will keep drawing anyway :P)

  3. OMFG wat a good drawer she is, just dont like the face, looks kinda creepy but anyays that image is da bomb!

  4. Peter says:

    OMFG that is fcking awesome. I’d like to see her doing a DB one

    • Nico says:

      She already kinda did. go to her website. It has an alternate DB story that’s full of lulz. My DB has the best eyebrows of them all. :3

  5. Tev402 says:

    Dam she’s got real talent. Like rly.

  6. DexlessNiteX says:

    http://www.basilmarket.com/user/kynim
    :) She also posted it on basil but idk why it didnt get front page D:

  7. Drew says:

    Spadow는 타코 좋아하니?

  8. Manu says:

    That looks awesome, I gave her a favourite in dA and a like in basil :P

  9. toodles says:

    very nice art but i think she should have worked a bit better on the dragon on the background though

  10. TacoBeard says:

    Nice. I especially like how your character looks cynical and murderous…
    hint towards your true nature?… yeah right you seem like a nice guy :D

  11. Wisdom says:

    It makes me wonder how that scrawny person makes a great Buccaneer. :P

  12. Panda says:

    that draw it’s what the word ”badass” was made for >:O

  13. Axxez says:

    Wow! This. Is. AMAAAZING! Tell her that for me ;)

  14. Jun says:

    Absolutely gorgeous ~!

  15. My-Kul says:

    the piece is beautiful i think! =]

    my only critique is.. why are you standing pigeon toed? lol

  16. momokairox says:

    O3O YUS. GO DA. :D Imma go fave this and tell her how awesome this is. :D:D:D

  17. PaCh says:

    That drawing is epic, she is very talented.
    She drew your character VERY, VERY well.
    You must really like to put it for your avatar icon.

  18. kipex says:

    OH MY GOD ITS GODLY LIKE 50 dex bathrobe , very nice idea with half transformation and Mortal Kombat Like Dragon in background :]

  19. BendyBread says:

    I saw the picture and knew who drew it (not by name, I just knew it was the person who did those Evan ones).

    Looks fantastic.

  20. WaitingForChaosPatch... says:

    Yeah,Kynim draws really good. I’m searching for new pics like your blog. :]

  21. LuffyBrawler says:

    Lol, I see she didn’t spend much time on it… unless she did, in which case, all of your standards are pretty low. Cool concept, I guess.

    • Spadow says:

      Frankly, I don’t care if she didn’t spent a lot of time on it nor am I an expert when it comes to MapleStory drawings, but I’m thankful because this drawing is a gift she gave me and I just really like it. ^^

    • Kynim says:

      I take a few hours to color things. I am not the best artist out there but I’d like to think I did a good job on this pic. Thanks.

      • Axxez says:

        Hey, you did a GREAT job on this. This is amazing. Don’t just take my word for it. Everyone else thinks its awesome. Incredibly drawn. I can’t even draw nearly as close to you. This is really really breathtakingly amazing.

        • LycanRage says:

          *nods is agreement* Great picture. Lucky Spadow…we want one too! ^^

        • LuffyBrawler says:

          Kynim, I am by no means saying I don’t like your drawing. It’s certainly better than anything I could do. It’s a fun picture of an interesting concept. Not to mention buccaneers are my favorite job by far.

          But, I dunno, it’s the comments like above that made me want to play devil’s advocate for a moment. I mean, some of these sound like they were just brought to tears from the beauty of witnessing the creation of Starry Night or something. A few hours spent shading on Photoshop…. *shrug*

  22. Random Person says:

    Lol it looks awesome

  23. Megabine says:

    Awesome :O

  24. DarkLordKarkain says:

    It looks rather devious with such an expression, which only adds to the excellence of it. Very talented artist for a friend you’ve got.

  25. LynjanDakari says:

    That drawing is amazing. I don’t know how else to put it :D

  26. eric says:

    I absolutely LUV IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  27. somethatguy says:

    lol that

  28. frank says:

    spadow …….what happened to your glasses?

    this is very cool but i wonder what it will be like if you had ur glasses

  29. GOGO says:

    wow
    the drawing is amazing
    my anime drawing skill sucks…. :(
    lucky u eh?…

  30. Axxez says:

    It’s sooo cool how half of the body is the super transformation form :) Really creative. Nicely well done. I love it!!

  31. Nisrockk says:

    One word.

    Talented.

  32. Thats very cool looking

    I’ll check it on deviant art and Watch em

    and gratz

  33. Jd says:

    spadow, i hope u realized kynim stole the half transformation idea from some other artist named haru. she was the first one to draw the half transformation and it was publicated like 2-3 months ago in basil.

    • Kynim says:

      I love how you are still bent on thinking that is the original thing.

      • LuffyBrawler says:

        I can’t help but notice you only respond to the negative stuff. If you’re going to bother to respond to people at all on this blog, why not throw in a “thank you” somewhere for all this decidedly ridiculous praise you’re getting? No offense, but to some people, that makes you seem even less impressive in ways your drawing ability doesn’t affect. Just food for thought.

        • rikuraccoon says:

          Luffy, I believe theres a law called Freedom of Speech.

          Just a thought.

          Derp.

          Oh, and amazing drawings Kynim! I love your style of art (:

          Spadow, why do you look so hot :D

  34. Ghost says:

    The half transformation looks good, but in my opinion Spadow I don’t see why you choose to wear that those NX clothes. They look…. ridiculous.

  35. shadowkun says:

    I find it weird how people over hype her drawings theyre okay but ive seen better

  36. royaltyjam says:

    Nice specially the half fire type thing

  37. Axxez says:

    HEY PEOPLE. Let’s just not judge the picture in a bad way and observe. It was a gift from his friend. She didn’t mean to show it off, or anything like that. Spadow thought it was amazing, so he posted it. I personally think it’s awesome :)

  38. lem says:

    Your body on fire? XDD eyes over evil, I’m scared -3-

  39. Turtle says:

    Nice way of advertising herself and her drawings, amiright?

  40. irishgit says:

    Plz take this art off, spadow!!! NO ONE LIKEES IT!!!

  41. HollowRender says:

    I was like Omg, cuz i am Buccaneer/Viper too, your friend is really really talented :)

  42. snowpaum says:

    It looks awesome. I love it ^^

  43. ShishiOh says:

    Spadow sorry that this does has nothing to do with the picture but im really curious if Dragon Strike is slower in when Transformed in KMS or is that just a glitch in GMS ?

    • Turtle says:

      I don’t think it’s glitched in Gms. If it’s slow, perhaps it’s because you’re not using Booster and Speed Infusion.

      • ShishiOh says:

        Nah dude im usin both booster and speed infusion its a glitch in GMS atleast where Dstrike is slower in Transformed state alot of ppl have talked about it on basil and some ppl have even calculated how much slower it is.

        • Turtle says:

          You sure? How strange. It’s faster for me.
          Maybe it’s just you, cause my Dstrike is just fine.

          • ShishiOh says:

            Then you must be on KMS or something because in GMS Dragon strike with transformation is half a second slower than without transform (booster + speed infusion in both cases) And thats why i originally asked Spadow is this the case in KMS too ?

  44. frank says:

    i wonder if she would do another one (in the future)but with glasses and not eyes of EVIL
    i wish i could draw like her

  45. anonymous says:

    i wonder if spadow likes someone …

  46. Alex says:

    This is why I think there should be an actual animation to the Transformation effect. It’s just an anticlimactic poof, and more than just that makes me think that Nexon just threw Pirates together as a last minute idea with some sort of deadline they didn’t really need to uphold.

  47. Anonymous says:

    The hair of the transformation part looks abit like a bull though , other than that itz… AWEZOMEZ!

  48. Derp says:

    Eh, it’s alright I guess. I can see she put a lot of effort in it, but I’ve seen a lot better as well. Not my style I guess.

  49. Minh Tri says:

    Flame on!

Leave a comment below

